Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1235274_10153523333910010_1766481006_n (1)Tis’ the night before Thanksgiving and I am sitting here thinking about children in Haiti, families in the Philippines, flood victims in India, soldiers in Iraq, snow storms up north, travelers stranded at airports and bus stations, the elderly with no one coming to visit, the sick and the dying, the overcrowded jails, the lost and the lonely, the desolate and desperate and even crack addicts and the homeless right here in Melbourne, FL looking for a warm spot somewhere far away from the cool wispy winter wind as they huddle up under the causeway or maybe find some shelter way out in the woods.

Sometimes I feel as if I’ve had a difficult year but in reality I am blessed.

Its Thanksgiving eve and I am still stuffed from the huge turkey dinner we had at my son’s house.  Tomorrow we’ll go at it again.  This time it will be ham and leftovers and a few new side-dishes at my house. Maybe I’ll make blueberry cobbler or maybe someone will bring more sweet treats or another pumpkin pie.

The leftovers we discard would be enough to feed some families in some parts of the world for several days.

Tonight I’ve decide to stop and think about the things I’m thankful for.

In the morning I’ll watch the Macy’s parade on TV and I’ll re-read the list–maybe once or maybe twice just to be sure it all sinks in.  My personal Thanksgiving list could go on for several pages or it could be short and direct since God already knows my heart and every detail of my life.

First and forever most important is my faith in God and my confidence in His grace and His love for me and for everyone who will just reach out and believe.

I am also thankful for my family, for dear friends and for a special person who is forever tucked in my heart.

I’m thankful to have another day with my 90-year-old-mother and for God’s angels of mercy working overtime to watch over my youngest daughter Sandy.

I’m thankful for my son Sean and daughter Christina and for their families–and of course for my three little granddaughters.

I’m thankful for my health and for God’s provision which has miraculously sustained me through a very dry and difficult year.

I’m thankful that God has given me a heart to serve Him and to help others.  For teaching and writing skills.  For open doors.  I’m thankful that God has allowed me to network with and be inspired by others who are also committed to missions and ministry.  I’m thankful God has filled my mind with vision, ideas and creativity . . . and that He has put compassion in my heart

Sometimes I think I’d be much happier if I took the time to count my blessings instead of dwelling on what is lacking in my life.  Gratitude comes when we stop taking things for granted and focus on the stuff that really matters.

Imagine how wonderful life might be if we all could dwell on the things that we appreciate most in life; if we could cultivate more contentment; if we would learn how to live in a perpetual state of Thanksgiving.